Ohioana Announces 2016 Book Award Finalists

Jun 10, 2016

June 10, 2016

The Ohioana Library is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2016 Ohioana Book Awards! The awards, established in 1942, honor Ohio authors in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Juvenile Literature, and Middle Grade/Young Adult Literature. The final category, About Ohio or an Ohioan, may also include books by non-Ohio authors. This year marks the 75th anniversary of the Ohioana Awards.

Finalists include two Pulitzer Prize winners, a two-time National Book Award winner, a National Book Critics Circle Award recipient, two winners of the Mystery Writers of America Edgar® Award, a five- time Coretta Scott King Literary Award winner, two Cleveland Arts Prize recipients, and ten previous Ohioana Award winners. This year’s winners will be announced in July, and the awards presented at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus on Friday, September 23. The 2016 finalists are:

Batiuk, Tom, and Chuck Ayers. Roses in December. Kent State Univ. Press, 2015.

McLain, Paula. Circling the Sun. Ballantine Books, 2015.
Roether, Barbara. This Earth You’ll Come Back To. McPherson & Co., 2015.
Russell, Mary Doria. Epitaph: A Novel of the O.K. Corral. Ecco, 2015. Stewart, Leah. The New Neighbor. Touchstone, 2015.

Some Other Media & Events Posts We Thought You Might Like